11.05.13 20:00, St. John's Church, Spencer Hill, Wimbledon. SW19 4NZ; £12 (£10)


Ensemble Concentus VII (baroque ensemble)

Tickets “at the door” – until sold out

Emily Atkinson (soprano)
Belinda Paul (oboe)
Louise Strickland (recorder)
Poppy Walshaw (cello)
Luke Green (harpsichord)

Nel dolce dell’oblio – George Frideric Handel
Mi palpita il cor – George Frideric Handel
Sonata No 1 in D minor for Recorder and Continuo – Francesco Mancini
Cantata, ‘Ardo,è ver, per te d’Amore’ – Alessandro Scarlatti
Cantata, ‘Ti sento, O Dio, bendato’ – Antonio Lotti
Sonata for Oboe in B flat – George Frideric Handel

Concentus VII perform Et in Arcadia Ego: Love and Loss in Italian Cantatas. Alessandro Scarlatti’s pastoral scene rubs shoulders with Lotti’s heady oboe writing, limpid adagios follow dazzling allegros – there’s something here for everybody.

The programme includes works by Handel, Mancini and Scarlatti.


No comments yet. Be the first to post using the form below.

Leave a Reply